top of page

Todos Santos

While docked in La Paz, on our second day we met up with long time family friends, and my Dad's very best friend, Richard and Anne. A few years ago, Richard and Anne bought a beautiful home in this incredibly cool art community Todos Santos (Pacific side of Baja just north from Cabo and relevant as Anne is an incredible artist--look her up at Anne Hebebrand) where they split their time between summer's in the US and winters in Todos. With just a hour and a half drive away from La Paz, we had made plans to see each other after our unfortunate meeting in MA for my Dad's memorial service.

 

I had first visited Richard and Anne a few years back, immediately after Jay deployed overseas. Traveling down for a yoga retreat, as a sort of get back-to-center type thing, I was hoping to work thru my first ever deployment and all the emotions that go with having your loved one gone and overseas for a full year. Since I was so close by, I extended my stay to visit with them and absolutely fell in LOVE with Todos Santos...promising that I would bring Jay back so he too could fall in love.

I would write so much about our time with them, but honestly words cannot do it justice (and truth be told, I am trying to keep these posts updated as I know the Yaldezian clan is eager to hear all that Matthew is up as he sails the high seas with us, becoming a true sailor...or if we are turning him into a pirate!)

 

Todos is just simply the coolest community. Beautiful architecture, small cobblestone streets zig-zaging through town and all nestled right along some of the most beautiful coastline in Baja. Being a well-renowned art community, downtown is lined with art galleries featuring artists from all over. I could go shopping here for hours if left to my own devices. (I left my wallet back at home to avoid this problem-window shopping will do this time around)

Interestingly enough, Todos unlike most all else in Baja is incredibly lush, which is maybe why I also love it so much. So many palms trees, fruit trees, bougainvillea of all colors and other really interesting foliage, makes you forget that you are in the desert of Baja, but in some equatorial jungle oasis.

Spending two glorious days with Richard and Anne was exactly what my soul needed; catching up, laughing, sight seeing and spending some quieter moments together reminiscing....

Thank you, thank you, thank you to you both, Richard and Anne! Let's hope we can meet up again in a few weeks as we round Baja and pass by your beach.


bottom of page